Rodion Shchedrin

$5.00 On Sale

"Composing Music that employs academic structures is not enough for me. I have to write music that lives and breathes, that has blood circulating through its veins. I want music that is alive, that makes a connection with the musicians and audience. I am an emotional person and so I write emotional Music."
- Rodion Schedrin

“The disc's recording quality is excellent, allowing the fine playing of the PSO to come through easily. Conductor Mariss Jansons knows exactly what he wants with this music.”
– Andy Druckenbrod, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette


Track Listing:

1. Lolita-Serenade: Symphonic Fragments from the Opera "Lolita" for Orchestra [25:45]
2. Two Tangos by Albéniz, Opus 96 [7:27] [3:48]
3. Anna Karenina: Romantic Music [29:36]
4. Concerto No. 1 for Orchestra, "Naughty Limericks" [8:57]

Total playing time: 75:49

Performed By: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Robin Walsh, speaker